Publish date: 29 December 2023

Congratulations to our UCLH colleagues who have been recognised in the King’s New Year Honours 2024 list. 

New years honours
From left to right: Professor Bryan Williams, Professor Valerie Lund and Dr Jahangir Alom

UCLH chief executive David Probert said: “I’m proud to see several UCLH colleagues honoured this year and I’d like to congratulate them all on this wonderful recognition. 

“I’d also like to take this opportunity, as we start the new year, to say huge thanks to all our staff who have worked so hard, through many challenges, over the past 12 months. It’s a pleasure to work alongside such amazing people.” 

Professor Bryan Williams 

Professor Bryan Williams is a Chair of Medicine at UCL and honorary consultant physician at UCLH and over the last decade has been Director of Research at UCLH and Director of the NIHR UCLH Biomedical Research Centre. He has been awarded an OBE for services to medicine. 

Professor Williams said: “I am delighted to receive this honour which recognises not only my work, but also the support of my family and the many wonderful, inspiring and talented people I have worked with in the NHS and academically during my career.” 

Dr Jahangir Alom 

Dr Jahangir Alom is an emergency medicine doctor working in UCLH’s anaesthetics department. He is also a campaigner, working during the COVID-19 pandemic to raise awareness on health inequality, particularly with the British Bangladesh community. He has been awarded a BEM for services to tackling health inequalities. 

Dr Alom said: “I am very grateful to be a recipient of this honour, having worked with many incredibly inspirational people throughout the pandemic. 

“We must not forget that during COVID-19 there were huge ethnic disparities that led to the death of many within marginalised communities, including colleagues. I hope that we continue to work to reduce health inequalities at UCLH and in the UK.” 

Professor Valerie Lund 

Professor Valerie Lund CBE is Emeritus Professor of Rhinology at the UCL Ear Institute and honorary consultant at UCLH. She is also a former medical director of The Royal National Throat Nose and Ear Hospital. She has been awarded a DBE for services to Rhinology.